MCD Election 2017 LIVE: Eyes on National Capital as Delhi Votes for Civic Bodies

MCD Election 2017 LIVE: Eyes on National Capital as Delhi Votes for Civic Bodies-All eyes are on the national capital today as Delhi votes for its civic bodies in the MCD election 2017. The polls are being closely watched in national politics, with the Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party all in fray.

There’s a lot at stake for three main contenders. The BJP will look to continue its winning momentum, having resoundingly won Uttar Pradesh in the recent Assembly elections as well as a number of civic bodies in Maharashtra and Odisha.

For Congress, the MCD election could be a chance to save face after embarrassing defeats across the country. The party’s most recent failure was in the civic polls of Latur, the Maharashtra stronghold that was in the Grand Old Party’s control ever since independence.

see related searches 
  1. MCD election 2017
  2. Mcd election result
  3. mcd election
  4. mcd election opinion poll
  5. mcd election 2012
  6. mcd election wiki
  7. mcd election in delhi date
  8. mcd election aap
  9. mcd election 2017 opinion poll
  10. mcd election bjp
Meanwhile, the AAP will be hoping for some redemption after bruising defeats in Punjab and Goa put brakes on Arvind Kejriwal-led party’s dreams of going national. Swaraj India, the party led by Kejriwal’s former Indian Against Corruption partner Yogendra Yadav, is also in the fray for Delhi’s civic bodies.


Former Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely who recently joined the BJP had to return from a polling booth in East Azad Nagar since the EVM there was malfunctioning.
Delhi deputy chief minister and Aam Aadmi Party ledaer Manish Sisodia casts his vote at Pandav Nagar.

Of all voters eligible to cast their ballots, 1.1 lakh people will vote for the first time.
Polling is being conducted at 13,022 stations across Delhi.

Delhi Lt. Governor Anil Baijal cast his vote early morning at a polling station in Greater Kailash-3.
Voting begins for the MCD election.

Polling for two wards (Sarai Pipalthala of NDMC) and Maujpur ward (EDMC) cancelled after death of candidates.